Prompt 5 – Color Grade

2

Before

5

After

6

After

I tried to use the Secondary Color Correction to adjust the color of the sky, changing from a gloomy sky to a blue sky. The Secondary Color Correction is able to work on a portion of the image. Like this clip, I just want change the sky color, so I need to make a selection of this sky. At first, I clicked the triangle of Secondary Color Correction before I chose the picker where it says center choose, this way can select the area you want to change by using the eye dropper or eye dropper plus. Then a white, grey and black image came up when I clicked the Show Mask. The white part just shows your selection. And I “push-pull” the sliders of Saturation, Luma, Hue many times to get the result I want. Finally, I adjusted the Shadows, Midtones and Highlights by using the Three-Way Color Corrector after turning off the Mask.

7png

After

I also used same method that I mentioned before to change the building color, but I think I didn’t control this color correction very well, particularly in the adjustment of this building shadows, midtones and highlights.

 

8png

Before

9

After

I still used Secondary Color Correction to adjust my face color, but it looks not very well, my face is so brighter than before. I just want to remove my eye dark circle, now it may work in this image, but other parts of my face become brighter.

10

After

I also tried to brighten the background color. It’s more colorful than before, especially showing in the green tree and grass.

11

Before

12

After

14

After

15

After

In this clip, I tried to make the image in different tones, from cooler color to warm color, by using the Three-way Color Corrector. Also, I clicked the Show Split View to see the contrast between before and after the color grade in the same image. Like this,

13

Split view

I think that if you want to get a satisfied result, you will adjust the color grade of a clip thousands times.

 

Leave a comment